GAIL Recruitment 2026 is out. GAIL (India) Limited, the Maharatna gas PSU, has issued an advance notice for Executive Trainee posts in Chemical, Instrumentation, Electrical and Mechanical engineering, to be filled entirely on GATE 2027 marks. The notice carries advertisement number GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026 and is dated 1 September 2026.
GAIL Recruitment 2026 — Executive Trainee Posts Through GATE 2027
Read the next line carefully, because it decides what you do this week. This is an advance notice, not the application form. GAIL will publish a detailed advertisement in February 2027, and the online application window on the GAIL website runs from 17 February 2027 to 18 March 2027. What the notice is really telling final-year and 2026-pass engineering graduates is this: register for GATE 2027 in the correct paper now, because without a GATE 2027 registration number there is no GAIL application later.
| Organisation | GAIL (India) Limited |
|---|---|
| Post | Executive Trainee (Chemical, Instrumentation, Electrical, Mechanical) |
| Advertisement no. | GAIL/OPEN/ET/1/2026 |
| Total vacancies | Not announced in this notice |
| Qualification | BE / B.Tech / B.Sc Engg in the relevant discipline with minimum 65% marks |
| Selection basis | GATE 2027 marks |
| Age limit | 26 years as on 18 March 2027 |
| Application opens | 17 February 2027, 11:00 am |
| Last date | 18 March 2027, 6:00 pm |
| Mode | Online only |
| Where to apply | gailonline.com |
How many vacancies are there?
None have been announced. The 1 September 2026 notice names the four disciplines and the qualification for each, but it does not state a vacancy count — not a total, and not a discipline-wise or category-wise split. GAIL says the numbers will come with the detailed advertisement in February 2027.
This matters because several job sites are already circulating specific vacancy figures for this recruitment. No such figure appears anywhere in the official advertisement. Treat any post-count you see for GAIL ET 2027 as unverified until the February advertisement lands, and check it against the notice on the GAIL careers page rather than an aggregator. More vacancy notices for engineering graduates are collected under job updates.
GAIL Executive Trainee Eligibility
Eligibility turns on three things at once: your discipline, your year of passing, and your percentage. All three have to line up.
Qualification by discipline
| Post | Degree required |
|---|---|
| Executive Trainee (Chemical) | BE/B.Tech in Chemical, Petrochemical, Chemical Technology, Petrochemical Technology, Chemical Technology & Polymer Science, or Chemical Technology & Plastic Technology |
| Executive Trainee (Instrumentation) | BE/B.Tech in Instrumentation, Instrumentation & Control, Electronics & Instrumentation, Electrical & Instrumentation, Electronics, or Electrical & Electronics |
| Executive Trainee (Electrical) | BE/B.Tech in Electrical; Electrical, Electronics & Power; Electrical & Electronics; or Electrical & Power |
| Executive Trainee (Mechanical) | BE/B.Tech in Mechanical, Production, Production & Industrial, Manufacturing, or Mechanical & Automobile |
Every discipline needs minimum 65% marks. Only full-time regular courses count, and the degree must be from a UGC-recognised university or an AICTE-approved course. If your branch is not on this list, you are not eligible — GAIL states that plainly.
Year of passing
- You completed your engineering degree in 2026, or
- You are currently in the final year (2026-27) of your engineering degree.
Candidates who passed in 2025 or earlier are not eligible. This is the filter that eliminates most applicants, and there is no relaxation on it.
Percentage
- General, EWS and OBC (NCL): 65%
- SC, ST and PwBD: 60%
Final-year candidates are judged on aggregate marks up to the last semester or year at the time of applying, and then have to actually finish with the required percentage and submit the final degree certificate by 31 August 2027.
Two details that catch people out. There is no rounding off — 64.99% is not 65% for a general-category candidate. And the 5% relaxation for SC/ST/PwBD applies only against posts reserved for those categories; if you apply against an unreserved post you are judged on the general standard.
Where your marks are in CGPA or a letter grade, convert to a percentage using your university's own norms and be ready with a conversion certificate from the institute at the selection stage.
Five-year integrated BE/B.Tech plus ME/M.Tech dual degrees in the relevant discipline count. So do integrated BE/B.Tech with MBA or M.Sc combinations, on the combined percentage, provided the final percentage awarded meets the criteria for the post.
Age Limit
The upper age limit is 26 years as on 18 March 2027 for all four disciplines. Relaxation on top of that:
| Category | Relaxation |
|---|---|
| SC / ST | 5 years |
| OBC (NCL) | 3 years |
| PwBD | 10 years |
SC/ST/OBC (NCL) relaxation applies only against reserved posts. PwBD relaxation applies whether or not the post is reserved, provided the post is identified as suitable for PwBDs. Ex-servicemen with at least six months of continuous service may deduct their period of service from their actual age. Work out where you stand on 18 March 2027 with the age calculator before you count on a relaxation.
Selection Process
There is no separate GAIL written exam. Selection runs on GATE 2027 marks, and only GATE 2027 — marks from GATE 2026 or any earlier year are not valid for this recruitment. Candidates are shortlisted on those marks and on GAIL's requirement, and then called for the further selection process.
You must sit the correct GATE paper for your discipline:
| Post | GATE 2027 paper | Paper code |
|---|---|---|
| Executive Trainee (Chemical) | Chemical Engineering | CH |
| Executive Trainee (Instrumentation) | Instrumentation Engineering | IN |
| Executive Trainee (Electrical) | Electrical Engineering | EE |
| Executive Trainee (Mechanical) | Mechanical Engineering | ME |
Sitting the wrong paper cannot be corrected later, so check the code against your discipline before you register for GATE.
How to Apply
Applying is a two-stage process spread over several months, and the first stage is the one that is live now.
- Register for GATE 2027 and appear in the correct paper for your discipline, following the timeline set by the GATE 2027 organising institute at gate2027.iitm.ac.in.
- Download your GATE 2027 admit card when it is released and note the registration number on it.
- Apply separately on the GAIL website at gailonline.com, in the Careers section, quoting your GATE 2027 registration number. The link is live from 11:00 am on 17 February 2027 until 6:00 pm on 18 March 2027.
An application without a valid GATE 2027 registration number will be rejected. Applications are accepted online through the GAIL website only, in no other mode. When the GATE admit card is released, it will also be listed under admit card updates.
You may apply for one post or discipline only. Applying for more than one means none of them is considered.
The notice states no application fee. Scanned certificates and photographs are usually needed at the application or verification stage, and the file-size limits on these portals are strict — the PDF compressor and the image resizer will get a document under the limit without it turning unreadable.
Reservation Certificates
If you are claiming reservation, get the paperwork right early, because there is no extension at the selection stage.
- PwBD: benefits apply only where the specified disability is not less than 40%, with a certificate in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment format.
- SC/ST: caste certificate in the prescribed Government of India format from the competent authority.
- OBC (NCL): a latest certificate issued in the year of advertisement, in the central government format, with the caste appearing in the Central List of OBCs.
- EWS: an Income and Asset Certificate valid for financial year 2026-27, prepared on income and asset verification for 2025-26.
The prescribed formats are downloadable from the Careers section at careers.gail.co.in.
Should Assam candidates apply?
This is an all-India recruitment with no state quota, so an Assam candidate competes on the same GATE merit as everyone else. That said, it is one of the better-paying engineering entries open to a 2026 or final-year graduate, and the qualifying step — GATE 2027 — is one most engineering students in Assam are already preparing for. If you are sitting GATE anyway in CH, IN, EE or ME, the GAIL application in February 2027 costs you very little extra.
Appointment is subject to a pre-employment medical examination against GAIL's prescribed standards. The medical norms are published in the Careers section of the GAIL website, and it is worth reading them before you start the process rather than after.
A word on fake notices
GAIL cautions candidates directly in this advertisement not to trust job announcements circulated by email or social media. Any revision, corrigendum or extension will be hosted only in the Careers section of gailonline.com, with no separate notification in any other media. If you see a GAIL recruitment link on WhatsApp or Telegram, open the official site yourself and check there.
How many posts are there in GAIL Recruitment 2026?
The advertisement does not state a vacancy count. GAIL will publish the number of posts, discipline-wise and category-wise, in the detailed advertisement due in February 2027.
What is the last date to apply for GAIL Executive Trainee?
The online application window on the GAIL website runs from 11:00 am on 17 February 2027 to 6:00 pm on 18 March 2027. The separate GATE 2027 registration has its own earlier deadline set by the organising institute.
Can I apply with my GATE 2026 score?
No. Only GATE 2027 marks are valid for this recruitment. GATE 2026 or earlier scores will not be considered.
I passed my BE in 2025. Am I eligible?
No. Only candidates who completed their engineering degree in 2026, or who are in the final year of 2026-27, are eligible. Anyone who passed in 2025 or earlier is excluded.
Is there an application fee?
The advertisement does not mention any application fee for the GAIL application. The GATE 2027 registration fee is separate and is set by the GATE organising institute.
Can I apply for two disciplines?
No. A candidate may apply for one post or discipline only. Applying for more than one means the candidature is not considered at all.
What is the age limit?
26 years as on 18 March 2027, with 5 years relaxation for SC/ST, 3 years for OBC (NCL) and 10 years for PwBD candidates, subject to the conditions in the notice.
Important Links
Read the official GAIL advertisement in full before acting on any part of this summary, and apply through gailonline.com only. For GATE 2027 registration, go to gate2027.iitm.ac.in.
If you are also looking at engineering vacancies with a nearer deadline, see SSC JE Recruitment 2026 and RRB JE Recruitment 2026, both of which are open now.
Important Dates
| Last Date to Apply | |
|---|---|
| Application Begins |
Important Links
| Online Application | Click Here to open Online Application |
|---|---|
| Official Notification | Click Here to open Official Notification |
| GATE 2027 website | Click Here to open GATE 2027 website |
Share this article
Read next
NHM Assam Medical Officer Recruitment 2026: 78 Posts
National Health Mission (NHM), Assam is hiring 78 Medical Officers (MBBS) on contract. The advertisement — No. NHM-31013(11)/365/2023-HRD-NHM, dated 9 September 2026 — replaces an earlier notice for the same post from December 2025, which has been cancelled. If you're an MBBS graduate looking at this NHM Assam Medical…
NHM Assam Compulsory Rural Posting 2026: MBBS Doctors, Apply by 14 September
National Health Mission, Assam has invited online applications from MBBS doctors for their One Year Compulsory Rural Posting. The window is short: applications opened on 6 September 2026 and close on 14 September 2026 at 2 PM. The remuneration is Rs. 38,500 per month. This NHM Assam recruitment 2026 notification…
AIIMS Guwahati Recruitment 2026 — 63 Faculty, 103 Senior Resident Posts
AIIMS Guwahati Recruitment 2026 is open on two fronts at once, and they are separate advertisements with separate deadlines. The All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Guwahati is hiring 63 Faculty posts — Professor, Additional Professor, Associate Professor and Assistant Professor — and, under a second notice, 103…
PFRDA Grade A Recruitment 2026 — 30 Assistant Manager Posts, Apply by 24 Sept
The Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority is recruiting 30 Officer Grade A (Assistant Manager) posts across four streams. Applications close on 24 September 2026 . The maximum age is 30 years as on 31 July 2026 , the starting basic pay is Rs 62,500 a month , and the fee is Rs 1,000 — nil for SC, ST, PwBD…
SBI Wealth Management Recruitment 2026 — 207 Posts, Apply by 25 September
State Bank of India has invited online applications for 207 Specialist Cadre Officer posts in its Wealth Management and Premier Banking business, on a contract basis , under advertisement number CRPD/SCO/2026-27/23 . The posts run from AVP Wealth and Relationship Manager up to Regional Head and Zonal Head, and are…